Welcome to the Perth Poms Forum.
  • Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Like Tree6Likes

Thread: Job prospects in Perth (applying before I leave the UK?)

Title
      Liked
      6 times
      Rep
      overlandandsea is on a distinguished road
      Status

Job prospects in Perth (applying before I leave the UK?)

Hi everyone :)

Just a quick question regarding the current job market in perth. I'm wondering whether it would be wise to apply for jobs before I leave the UK or whether I could wing it and would have just a good a chance of getting a job once I'm there.

I've got plenty of experience in retail and barwork (I understand I would need to take a qualification for barwork) so I'm sure I could find a job in Coles or something to tide me over if needed, but I'm really interested in office work. I have a year's experience in the payable side of finance (entry level) which is what I would be aiming for but I don't really know if there's much competition at the moment.

I hold Australian citizenship so I don't need an employer to sponsor me, which I think will help.

Thanks!

Title
      Liked
      969 times
      Rep
      Rossmoyne is on a distinguished road
      Status
      It is very hard to obtain work unless you are in Australia as future employers like to interview face to face mostly unless you have incredible skills unavailable in the country. Sorry but in your fields of expertise in retail and barwork, you are going to be in the mix with everyone else when you arrive back in Oz. Good Luck though!

Title
      Liked
      275 times
      Rep
      jamesw is on a distinguished road
      Status
      To do bar work, you will need to complete a RSA, which is an online assessment. Follow this up with a bar managers assessment. The RSA cost around $60 and the manager assessment cost around $250.
      I'm an Aussie now, so should I be here??

http://webbs-on-the-move.blogspot.com/
      (Not used now, but may help you get an idea what we went through!)

Title