Seeking job in Perth - Teacher, Change Manager, Business Analyst

Ezi

Dear members,

My husband, myself and our 13 m/o son will be moving to Perth in Feb 2015. We have not figured out any accommodations but reckon that won’t be as difficult as finding a job.

We are currently on state sponsorship under Skilled Migrant visa. I currently worked as a Change Manager/Business Analyst in a global investment bank here in Singapore and I have been actively looking for a similar post in Perth, in the hope of securing myself a job before moving. I have tried looking for one for over a year and nothing positive came out of it.

Similarly with my husband, who is a Primary school teacher. I think he needs to get his accreditation first as English is not our first language here.

We now have decided that we are going to the plunge - drop everything we have back home and move there. It is a scary thought but we thought that if we don’t do this now, then we will never will.

Reading some of the posts here have been both encouraging and scary at the same time - with posting where employers look for local employees over us. I really appreciate any form of advise from those who were in our shoes. I guess as a start, I would like to have a sense on how is the job market there and if there are any good job sites which we could refer to. Seek job portal has been our source of job seeking so far.

Thank you all for your time!

• 2 weeks later...

Hi Ezi,

I myself is a migrant and also having a lot of friends with similar case like you. There are a few concerns you have pointed:

1. Accommodation:

It is easy to get a rental anywhere in Perth but do check the area, some are extremely expensive and some can be very cheap (but dodgy neighborhood). So do check around and I guess you have someone you know here to check with?

2. Your job: