Any teachers out there?

Stuart Whelan

I'm a secondary school science teacher in Manchester and will be flying out to Perth with my family on July 21st. I have already registered with the TRBWA and I am now full on job hunting, if you're already out there and have any tips on how to secure my first post please get in touch. I'd love to hear from you.

Stuart

Hi Stuart,

I'm a primary teacher but currently working as a Year 7 teacher in a secondary school. We came over last August and. I did about 3 months supply ( called relief here) in local schools. As soon as you arrive go into your local schools and ask one of them to fill in your working with children form ( you get it from the post office) and then you can start straight away. I was lucky enough to get a great permanent job in a lovely school in January. It was advertised in the western australian paper on Saturdays. There do seem to be vacancies all the time for Maths and Science teachers. Jobs are advertised regularly but most begin around October/ November for the new school year. You may want to do the relief work until one comes up. On the other hand it doesn't hurt to do relief anyway as they'll get to know you and if you do a great job they'll offer you more. As for the paper check the independent schools websites ( AISWa) and get your name down on the different pools for teachers. I'm sure you can access this online but I'll check for you too. We you going to be based NOR or SOR. We're SOR and love it. Good luck, let me know if I can help : )

Hi Stuart.

My hubby Graham is a primary school teacher and we are hoping to head out in Sept- if our house sale goes through ok!

We're also from Manchester- Swinton.

Would be nice to keep in touch, let us know how you go on and take Aligard up on her offer of help, she's been a godsend for us!

Hi Aligard,