Jump to content

gemedwards

Members1
  • Content count

    10
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

10 Neutral

About gemedwards

  • Rank
    Junior Member

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. Hello all, just wondering if I can reach out and get in touch with any PE teachers that have made the move and happy to share their experiences?? Sent from my F5321 using Tapatalk
  2. gemedwards

    Family Budget

    Yeh that sounds good. Thanks for that Sent from my F5321 using Tapatalk
  3. They are currently renting in Mullaloo, at the end of the year they are going into the country with paid for accommodation to save a deposit before they move back towards Perth and buy. Sent from my F5321 using Tapatalk
  4. Tbh I just want to know that on the salarys we expect to have we will be able to afford to live over there and obviously mortgage is the biggest cost. Sent from my F5321 using Tapatalk
  5. No we don't have jobs as we haven't applied for Visas yet. I have been in touch with potential employers within disability employment services which seem to have branches all over the place and response has been really positive. My husband is a teacher so I guess a lot would depend on where his school was, but he will have to do supply know doubt initial so an area easily accessible to alot of secondary schools would be great Sent from my F5321 using Tapatalk
  6. We expect to earn around $100-130000 between us as I hope to work part time. We will then be paying for childcare 3 days a week utilising the government's childcare help. We are careful with money when it comes to weekly shopping etc but we are quite active so tend to spend out money of day trips out and leisure. This should hopefully be less in Oz as there's more to do for less money Sent from my F5321 using Tapatalk
  7. Thanks for that. The issue at the moment is we need to establish we will be able to live comfortably financially on these areas. We will definitely be renting for some time first to get to know the areas ourselves just don't want to get over there and realise we can't afford to live in a nice area like we do here Sent from my F5321 using Tapatalk
  8. Originally we were looked far north such as butler, Clarkson etc, however my brother in law suggested these would not be the best and we would end up paying for private schools. So we are looking at the likes of Kinross, Currambine, ocean reef, that sort of area. We are flexible though as long as it's a nice area with a decent enough school. Not bothered and the 'best' school as long as it's not below average. Sent from my F5321 using Tapatalk
  9. gemedwards

    Family Budget

    Hello all, I am desperate to get an unbiased and real view on monthly outgoings for the average family in Perth. My brother and sister in law have been out there for 18 months and have been extremely helpful, however as they are both very well paid and so laid back they're horizontal they don't really do budgets. Myself and my husband earn a combined wage of £57000 in the UK with me working Part-time and we own our own 3 bed detached house in Norfolk. I would like to continue working part-time in Oz and looking at our job prospects we would be hoping to earn around $100-130,000. Financial gains is certainly not on our list of reasons to emigrate, however I am just very worried about leaving ourselves financially worse off with the increase in mortgage payments, Medical Insurance, Childcare/school fees etc. Sooooo to the point. If anyone is willing to share their current Weekly or Monthly figures with me including all outgoings, down to food, mobilephone bills, gyms etc i would be extremely grateful. Thanks in advance. Gemma
  10. Hello, I am currently in the very early stages of emigrating, we have the documents all ready to go for the Skill assessment once we have attended Downunder live this weekend. In the meantime I am trying to gather as much info as possible to make sure we are making the right decision for ourselves and our 1 year old. We are homeowners in the UK and would be looking to sell our property to cover the migration costs and hopefully have some left over for a deposit. We should be looking at at least £60000 equity in our property, £20,000 of which we are budgeting to get out there and settled. This will leave us with just £40,000 for our deposit. I am looking at properties online between $500-600,000 and finding some lovely homes, however when speaking to my brother in law who is already out there the low cost is due to the area, and the schools wouldnt be great so we would end up spending more sending the little one to a private school. Just wanting to gather a general idea about how much people would allow for a budget for a home, plus what deposit they would expect to pay on that and the what their monthly repayments would be. My criteria for a house is 4 bed, good transport links, close to shops etc and good schooling, the beach isn't something I am particularly bothered about as long as it is driving distance for day trips. Nay help anyone is willing to give regarding this or anything else that may help me see how the move would work out for us financially would be greatly appreciated kind regards. Gemma
×