Worried I've made a massive mistake

Shona7

Hi all,

Over the past few weeks I have been on PIO and Perth Poms everyday religiously! From what I've read I'm beginning to fear that I may have made a big mistake. I am a nurse and midwife in the UK, married with two children aged 9 and 5. I secured a job this summer as a midwife in Perth and visa application has been lodged......on a 457 :nah:

Our original plan was to come to Australia on the 457 to see if we actually liked the placed before even thinking about PR as I will have a job to come to and no cost of skills assessment or IELTS yet. Now I think I'm wishing we'd gone down the PR route as we'll be loosing so much more money in other areas such as tax, no state help and the future of education. It's such a big move anyway but now I feel it may be so much harder. Is anyone else in a similar situation? My problem isn't the job as I'm over the moon with that, it's the visa route I have chosen which scares me :wideeyed:

Thanks in advance

Sho

Guest guest10912

Well you certainly won't be any worse off from a tax point of view, but yes there are other financial and non-financial reasons why PR is better.

It is easily fixed though, just apply for PR now. You can still go ahead with the 457 and then when the skilled migrant visa comes through it will simply replace the 457.

Our original plan was to come to Australia on the 457 to see if we actually liked the placed before even thinking about PR......Now I think I'm wishing we'd gone down the PR route as we'll be loosing so much more money in other areas such as tax, no state help and the future of education.