How difficult is it to get a job in the South West or Peel regions

Tracey T

Hi everyone we are hoping to move down under March or April time. My husband is our main applicant he is a Chef/cook. I am a finance officer and doing my final accountancy exams. Are most jobs shown online or is it true it's who you know that helps to find work? Any advice would be gratefully appreciated as I am really worried about finding work. We both have over 20 yrs experience but not sure if that will count for anything!!!

My hubby is also a chef and usually just walks into restaurants looking for work. He is intending to do some temp agency chef work while looking for a suitable permanant job. There may be a local paper with jobs advertised in the area you go and also check gumtree.

Hi again, glad your visa came through. Guy across the road from us, here in Perth, is a cook / chef and temps all the time and swears by it because he can move around gaining experience and the rates are good. Plenty of work apparently but they will ask for WA history he says at the initial interview. Possibly do the walk in first, get something for a couple of months and then that would nail that issue.

Where is he working at the moment? In Fife?

STTP, we have an outside catering business (I am a pastry chef) so do wedding catering all over the place, he temps at the Scores hotel (St Andrews) quite a lot during quiet season though. He has actually done quite a bit of temping here including the Crusoe!

We worked in Perth back in 2005 at Halo Restaurant, Barack Jetty for 3 months and also did temping, hubby likes it and it pays well but I prefer to work at one place. We are glad we got the visa too, cook was taken off the skills list yesteray!

Hi Nikki are visa has just been lodged n acknowledged yesterday just hope it will be ok if Cook has now came off the list. We are hoping to move over quite quickly once approved and get started with our new life :-)