Advice from Plumbers in Perth

Catriona McKay

Hi we are just about to start the visa process and have been thinking of moving to Prrth for a while now. My partner is a Site Supervisor, plumber to trade. I've had a look through some threads and have noticed a lot of negative posts about not getting work because you need wa experience. Is there any success stories out there to make me feel better. We were out in perth over Christmas & new year staying with friends who have their PR now and are doing well. Our friends say we are perfect candidates but I'd like to hear other opinions. Just found this forum last night. Many thanks!

Hi, we moved out here 29th December this year, I'm a plumber and have not found work yet.ive only been looking for around 3 weeks. I do not have my licence ,but am booked in on 31st march for two weeks gap training. I have phoned many company's put cvs out signed on with hays but not much luck, even for a plumbing TA .not gonna give up may have to do some other work as perth is a fantastic place and theirs no way on earth I want to move back to the uk. Good luck on the move it's well worth giving it a go.

All the best

scott.

Hi Catriona, hopefully will find some thing soon. It seams to me that until I gain my licence 31st march there maybe better chances of me getting some work, don't get me wrong their is work out here but just be prepared to have funds to tie you over for a while untill you get work, there's not much work for a trade assistance in the plumbing game, I've even offered to work for free for a week just to gain some WA experience. And get my foot in the door and show them that I am a skilled plumber from the UK, even work on TA money for a while. At least it pays for a few things, anyway it is a great place to live, and if I did not try this in my life time I would regret it big time. I say go for it. Good luck