Trying to budget for our move to Perth. PLEASE HELP!

TheMackemSlayer

Hi folks!

Myself, my girlfriend and our two children intend to ditch the doom and gloom of the UK in favour of a new life in Australia ASAP but could really do with some help and guidance in regards to how much money would be required before we're able to set a realistic date for our arrival.

Okay, so I've done some research of my own and here's what I've come up with:

$4,500 to pay for our flights

$2,000 to secure a rental property

$6,000 to cover our first three months rent

$2,500 to allow for three months worth of food

TOTAL: $15,000 (just over £8,000 - feel free to correct me if this is wrong)

Please bare in mind that I have very little knowledge in regards to day-to-day living costs in Perth and therefore I've had to guesstimate most of those sums.

Anyway, I would now like to find out a little more about other expenses, such as utility bills, mobile phones and anything else we may need to budget for in order to ensure that our move goes through without too many hiccups.

Any advice/suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers,

Gary.

Hi Gary. There are some older threads that cover the monthly living costs, I think it worked out at around $4500 per month for a family including rent, bills, fuel, car insurance etc. On arrival will you need to stay in short term accommodation while house hunting? will you need to buy a car when you arrive? do you need to buy furniture/household things when you get your house or are you shipping your stuff over? School uniforms and some school contribution fees also need to bepaid for(if applicable). Just some other things to think about, hopefully someone who has recently made the move will offer more accurate advice. We are budgeting around £15000 to last the first couple of months once we arrive.

Thanks for the reply, nikkiwd.

To answer your questions: