Teacher of Special Education and Theatre Nurse looking to immigrate to Perth

VJ Ca

Hello everyone,

My wife and I are considering (and my wee boy) immigrating to Perth. Both our occupations appear to be in demand (I am a Teacher of Special Needs/Education Support and she’s a Theatre Nurse). My wife’s cousin also lives in WA.

I was wondering if someone could help answer a few questions for us both?

1) Is it best to work for a private or state hospital?

2) My occupation is in demand but haven't came across any jobs on the WA education website. Am I looking in the wrong place?

3) I have been a teacher for ten years and my wife has been a nurse for nine years. I was wondering how much we would earn?

4) Could we afford a house with a pool, couple of cars and still have enough money left over to do things we do here e.g. holidays, clubs for my wee boy, going out for lunch/dinner etc.?

5) Are you glad you made the move?

6) What do you do for childcare?

7) Did you use an agent?

We are looking to live close to my wife's cousin. Probably near Butler or thereabouts.

Sorry about all the questions but we need to make sure we are doing the right thing.

Welcome to PP, I have no experience of your professions but I'll offer my perspective.

It probably depends on your criteria. "Best"? would mean different things for different people and I'm sure there are benefits and pitfalls for each option. There are plenty of healthcare staff on here so hopefully someone will be able to advise

2) My occupation is in demand but haven't came across any jobs on the WA education website. Am I looking in the wrong place?
Try Seek.com too or you could approach the providers directly for advice. Have you researched prospective employers and contacted them? Public sector funding will likely come in for a massive hammering over the next few years as the economy slows and undoubtedly the woefully underfunded MH and education sectors will be hit hard.