Just Starting

wavey23

Hi Everyone,

Just starting to contact people with regards making our dream become reality. It will be the wife along with the two boys. Age not on our side I'm 49 next year and the wife is 44 next year.

My wife is a practice manager of a doctors surgery with vast amount of experience in Hr and employment law. I'm a professional photographer with my own business in the UK.

So we are saving like mad, not sure how much we need as of yet. Any advice on this one would be great. My wife's sister's family are already living in Perth and we have visited on numerous occasions. We have contacted a migration company for advice at this early stage.

Will be reading the forum for advice as a lot of people have offered great advice.

David

Hi David.We arrived in Sept last year on a PR visa. Don't worry about your age, we're not much younger and have found quite a few making the move at this age. I would suggest £12,000 minimum to bring to get you started. Also, if your wife is going to be the applicant, I'd get things moving quick due to 45 being the general cut off age for points ( it can take a long time). We got initial advice off a migration agent but then did the visa process ourselves, which was straightforward. Lots of people use agents though and wouldn't do it without one, so it's personal opinion. There is lots of helpful information on here, it really helped us with the process and has also helped us make some lovely friends since we arrived. Good luck!

Edited by Cleowag

Hi and welcome.

The he first issue is visas. I am not clear on who would be the main applicant based on occupations, but your age may rule that out for you as it is very difficult to get enough points after the age of 45.

You therefore need to look through the two occupation lists to see if there is an occupation on there that matches. Then, you need to go through the requirements for that occupations skills assessment.