Employment

I am guessing it is for IT roles?

Perth has never had a big IT industry as a lot of Perth companies have their IT departments over east - it used to infuriate me as the time difference was a serious pain.

I have heard people sing the praises of Hays, though personally I was never a fan. Have you considered marketing yourself direct as a contractor?

Unfortunately in WA, many jobs don't make it to employment agencies as it is more about who you know, than what you know. Agency fees can be huge, and in the current economic climate in WA, employers often prefer to recruit directly and not involve an agency. It can also be hard to break into some specific employment arenas without any network buddies to help.

Before I retired I was an HR Manager, and whilst jobs were advertised, many of the short contract positions were not and were given to people either known to the relevant supervisor, or to those people who had cold-called and requested a meet with the HR Manager (me) and left their CV for future reference. Whenever I was given a short term contract to fill, I always went through the pile of CV's I had on my desk first and usually there was someone who stood out, especially if I had met them, and I would give them a chance to prove themself. It didn't always work, but when it did, it often led onto more employment for that person.

Often too, it can be beneficial to offer to do "work experience" in a particular role that you are qualified to do. Some people say that it is slave labour, but at least it lets the employer see what you are capable of, and even if it doesn't lead to employment with that company, you never know what connections you can make with people you would be working with and what can come from that. Remember networks are the go in WA.