New Year, New Me, New People.

scottyboy2017

Hi Everyone,

Aye aye another Brit heading down for sun kissed barbies.

Im 29 from Newcastle, I'm a Marine Engineer heading down to Perth around 19th Jan 2017. I have around 10 years of Engineering experience on large commercial vessels and offshore construction and Dive support vessels.

Basically im coming down on a Evisitor visa in the hope that I can try and find some work.... Will I need a WHV or a 457 visa to allow me to work down there?

I have been to Perth once before for 1 night and flew up to Karratha the following day to Join a ship to take to Japan. I didnt see much one bar that was it.

I will be staying with my cousin up near Helmsley I think its called.

Can anyone HELPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPP???? Advice etc...

Thanks Have a great NY.

Scotty :arghh:

I would apply for a WHV now and travel on that as it will allow you to work for an employer for 6 months. If you do rural work for 3 months it would entitle you to apply for a second years WHV. If you are stopped for any reason by border security and they do not believe that you are a genuine tourist they can refuse you entry. The 457 visa is a temporary visa which the employer has to meet certain criteria for to be eligible.

H and welcome to the forum.

As ali says, the best visa for you would be a whv. This can be applied for on line fairly easily and is normally granted in a day or two.

You should though be aware that because of the downturn in oil and gas, there are lots of Australian people looking at the same jobs as you at the moment.

Thanks Ali and very Stormy for your replies.

Does anyone know if this will affect my chances of being accepted for WHV if I already have a Evisitor visa??? As in I already have an evisitor in place.... will I still be able to apply for WHV??