Train Driver/ Gas Fitter

Jocky82

Hi

Im a UK passenger train driver, and looking for advice from any drivers based in Perth?

I am also a qualified gas fitter (changed career 4 years ago),  but having read recent posts about plumbers, seems a tough route to go down!

I guess I’m after some advice regarding both careers really! 

Thanks 

6 minutes ago, verystormy said:

Hi and welcome to the forum.

The big and first thing are visas. I am guessing you don't have one yet?

Thanks

No, in the very early stages of research at the minute, seem to have a few options I believe, via the skills shortage (gas fitter) and the other option is I have a daughter who lives in Perth, aged 11, she migrated with her Mum and stepdad 3 years ago, I believe I can apply via a parent visa, I’ve checked the eligibility criteria and it seems I pass that, but it comes at a cost! 

Yea I think your right there, some expert advice is defo on the agenda, although I have 15 years Plumbing and Gas experience and 4 years as a Train Driver, and my partner is a highly qualified hair stylist, being in our early 30’s and having several members of family with permanent visa’s I think our chances are fairly good.

having said that, from what I have been researching over the last month, Perth certainly doesn’t seem the dream move like everyone seems to think, it may be put in on the back burner for the meantime

Thanks for your info