Mining work

Hi everyone

I am a 31 year old bloke from the uk, and also hold dual nationality with NZ. I have been working as a plumbing and heating engineer in the uk for the past 2 years. Before that I was a plant operator in the golf course construction industry for 2 years.

I am arriving in Perth on the 4th feb and looking to get out onto the mines. I have been looking at course sin Perth which offer plant tickets and the cost is over $3000, with no guarantee of work once I have them. The research I have done so far seems that companies are not keen to take on trainees.

Would anyone be able to offer any advice or guidance on what would be e best step to take next. Should I pay a fee for the ticket or try another way in.

Many thanks for your time and consideration.

Cheers

Chris

Guest mickbro
Hi everyone

I am a 31 year old bloke from the uk, and also hold dual nationality with NZ. I have been working as a plumbing and heating engineer in the uk for the past 2 years. Before that I was a plant operator in the golf course construction industry for 2 years.

I am arriving in Perth on the 4th feb and looking to get out onto the mines. I have been looking at course sin Perth which offer plant tickets and the cost is over $3000, with no guarantee of work once I have them. The research I have done so far seems that companies are not keen to take on trainees.

Would anyone be able to offer any advice or guidance on what would be e best step to take next. Should I pay a fee for the ticket or try another way in.

Many thanks for your time and consideration.

Cheers

Chris

Hi,

Alot of plant operator job ads ask for minesite experience, you maybe better off looking at companies around perth to start with build up your experience in perth.You don't always need tickets it's experience they look for in alot of cases.

Hope this helps.

Mick

Guest Catnoehughes

Hi Chris,