ElectricalTech

!!ELECTRICAL TECHNICIAN!! question

Hi all,

I am a fully qualified electrical technician (27) from the UK.

I'm at the stage of having just submitted my EOI for the WA state sponsored skilled working visa, so hopefully within 6 months I should get the thing!

My question is:

To secure employment with a company in WA will I need any additional qualifications relevant to Oz?

If I cannot secure employment beforehand I do not want to go and struggle due to not having 'a' licenses etc...

Any help would be appreciated along with recommendations of companies to contact around Perth or Albany. (experience with plc's, hmi's, scada, industrial automation equipment)

Many Thanks

Craig

Hi Craig

I'm a plumbers, gas fitter and with all licences trades, you have to jump through hoops over here. I feel it's a big money making scheme nut you've just got to run with it. I've been in Perth now for 5 weeks and finally been accepted to enrol in the migrant conversion course which is a two week course telling you about local bylaws. There is a company in London that can give you the same qualification and may give you a head start before you come over but I think it was about £3000'where it's $600 over here.

Beware , nobody rushes anything over here WA = Wait a While.

If I were you, I would email a load of companies before you come out.

I was going to change careers when I came over but found out that plumbers are earning around $250 per hours self employed and around $50 hour employed. If your willing to work, you'll do we'll over here as the Aussies don't want to.

If I can help further, let me know

Regan