Looking to make the move... Any help & advise greatly appreciated

Guest Natalie_c1806

Guest Natalie_c1806

Hi All

I'm looking to make the move to Australia with my wife, daughter who's 24 and son who's 21 and looking for all the advice and guidance I can get to do it the best way...

I'm 48 years old and have over 30 years experience in the building trade (bricklaying/block paving) I was self employed for a number of years and I'm now currently working as a site foreman for a construction company. Although I have plenty of experience, I don't have any formal qualifications, so I'm concerned that I would find it difficult to find work??? ...and which area is my line of work most in demand for?

Im also concerned that when applying for a skilled workers visa I would be declined due to having no formal qualifications and my age... Any advice on this would be great ( I have found that there are places that can provide AQF qualifications based on experience, so this may be an option as well)???

Thanks in advance

Henry

From what you have posted - just given your age you will not be able to pass the points test.

Also unless your children are still in full-time education it would be unlikely that they would still be classed as dependents, therefore would need to be eligible for their own visas.

Guest Natalie_c1806

Thanks for your reply. Is that just for the skilled workers visa? Would you suggest any other type of visa I could apply for or other way of getting in, do you think I could find work based on my experience and look at potentially getting an employer sponsorship?

Thanks for your reply. Is that just for the skilled workers visa? Would you suggest any other type of visa I could apply for or other way of getting in, do you think I could find work based on my experience and look at potentially getting an employer sponsorship?