ICT Support

Guest Lotok

Hey Everyone

The migration agent I have been talking to said a 457 Employment Sponsorship is what I would need to move to Perth. I currently work in IT Desktop Support with some .NET and SQL skills as well. I am just finding my bearings here and trying to find out how in demand IT Support is in Perth. I was thinking I would send a letter/email and cv to many of the major companies to fish for an opportunity.

I have 7 years experience and an MCTS/MCITP for Windows 7 and an ITIL Foundation as certifications. Most of my experience has been for financial services companies although I dont feel the need to limiting myself to financial firms.

Has anyone else went over in the same way with an IT opportunity?

Many Thanks

I'm in a similar position. Take a look at seek.com.au for how many IT jobs are currently going in Perth. One thing I found last year was that no one I applied to/rang/tried to get an appointment to see was willing to give my application a look as (at that time) I didn't yet have a visa entitling me to work in Australia. You may have better luck, so don't let any snubs get you down!

Hey Phil

Did you eventually get a firm to sponsor you and employ you in IT Support? I see you are in Perth. It's all very early days here for me, I dont intend to let being snubbed put me off, not straight away anyway.

It was a case of having seen no progress on a non-employer-sponsored visa for 18 months that we came out to visit for a couple of weeks last year and try and get sponsorship. Unsuccessfully - but everyone we spoke to said "we'd love to hear from you when we get here, but we're not sponsoring at the moment". Once here, got multiple job offers straight away. Things may have brightened up a bit and you may find employers more willing to do sponsorship etc. Good luck!

Guest Guest4575