Student Nurse - Elective Placement

Wheelerclan

Firstly I would like to say hello! Its my first time posting; although I am addicted to PP and have been for about a year!

I am currently working towards becoming a nurse, access course almost completed and about to embark on Uni, thinking ahead I am aware that alot of Uni's offer an elective placement in your second or third year, which can be abroad and I'm sure I have recently read a post on PP of someone who completed one and got offered a job so basically all the waffling on - I am after advise and any information any one can give me on doing something like this??

Thank you in advance for reading my waffle!

Sarah

I had a fab student, first year, first placement. A lovely girl. I have offered to put her up if she wants to come for her elective placement. It's such a good experience to put on your CV. She will be doing it in her second year too. It used to be towards the end of your third year that you did it and I can see how you could be offered potential employment from that as it's not much after that you qualify. If that's what your aiming for then I would suggest leaving it as late in your training as possible. No one is likely to offer you a position if you've got more than a year before qualifying.

Good luck with your studying.

Debs

Contact the universities as they place students. They do sometimes have too many students and not enough placements for them - so plan ahead. I hadn't read the post about someone being offered a job after having a placement - that sounds like good news - was it in the public or private sector?

Thanks for your advice Debs! Have been following your very funny posts (without sounding like a stalker!!) - real inspiration! I've got 3 kids and can not wait to become a nurse and then emigrate, its always been a life long dream for myself and my hubby.