Hi! I'm new to this.

I have a question re. the 186 Visa. On the governmental website, under “Expression of Interest”, it states:

“If you do not have an employer who will nominate you, you can submit an Expression of Interest (EOI) through SkillSelect. Prospective employers and state and territory governments can then view your details and decide whether to nominate you for skilled migration.”

But when we login to SkillSelect EOI, it states: “The EOI for this subclass is able to be completed.” When I click on “Apply Visa”, I get a pop up window where it states: “In order to lodge an application for this visa type, the employer must have already begun their nomination application. You will need their Transaction Reference Number (TRN) to continue.”

Then we are asked: “Do you wish to start lodging a visa application for this visa now?” YES or NO.

How do we proceed? Can we proceed? Thanking you in advance.

Best regards,

Anna Linda

Hi verystormy! We’re negotiating and it may happen, but in case the offer falls through, I wanted a backup plan. I though making an EOI was the plan B: to put my husband out there and see if there were any interest from employers. 

Am I way off? Have I misunderstood the Home Affairs homepage? 

Thanks, verystormy, for any assistance or advice. 

Best, 

Anna Linda

Yes, I am afraid you have misunderstood. Employers are not going to see your details. A 186 application requires a sponsor to be in place with the process started by the employer  

If you want a percent visa, you are better looking at PR visas such as 189 or 190. Or even a 489. Employers generally only offer 457 ( about to become TSS) which are temporary visas. What is the occupation?

Dear verystormy,