Any non resident UK landlords out there, re: buildings insurance!

Liz

Just for the information of any expats that are unaware (as I was)! If you have a rental property in the UK and are PR in your new country, your buildings insurance may not be valid. I have been with Insure in the UK for 2 years and just found out that had I claimed it would not be valid as I'm a non-resident of the UK. This only came about as I didn't get my renewal reminder due to Insure's error, so had to do a fresh quote, they asked me if I was a UK resident and I realised I'm not now, then the light went on and I realised that I am PR of Australia! Just did a quick search as I had to be covered ASAP and only found one company that does it, and it cost £878!!!! I quickly bought the policy, but can't believe that I have potentially been uncovered for 2 years!! I am still not covered as I have to sign a subsidence form and send it back, please God don't let anything major happen in that time!

Like ·

Guest Jamjar

I have no idea why being resident or not in the UK should make a diff to a landlord policy. I think its just another way of charging higher premiums.

To be honest I dont remember residency being a question when I completed the info for a quote.

• 2 years later...

Hi we are non resident landlords in the UK. We thought there would be a problem but no our original landlords insurance with CIA it just rolled over nicely. They haev our Aussie address plus email. Have to pay the policy in full when it needs renewing no monthly direct debit.