Which Visa and skills assessment?? So confused!

Linda21

Hi, this is my first time posting. We are just in the initial stages of immigration and are trying to do it ourselves instead of through an agency. The problem is which visa and which skills assessment?

I'm a qualified teacher having done a 3 year degree and 2 year PGCE in Early Years and Primary Education, however I have not completed my NQT (which I know is only really required in the UK) as I can't find a post, but have worked on supply now for 2 years. Early Childhood (Pre-primary) teachers are on the SOL as well as the CSOL and primary teachers are on the CSOL. I do believe the best visa would be a 457 but any advice other recommendations would be greatly appreciated.

I've just pulled my qualifications together to send away for a skills assessment, but where do they go - AITSL, NOOSR, ACECQA or VETASSESS?? I thought they'd go to AITSL but now not so sure - maybe they have to go to more than one place?

My husband is a Driving Instructor with 2 years experience and he's on the CSOL too. Could he apply for the visa?

Any help and advice would be appreciated as I really don't want to employ an agency with this.

welcome to PP,

with a 457 you will need to be sponsored by an employer and it is a temporary four year visa, which does not give you free access to schooling (if kids) and medical care. only one of you needs to apply for a visa and the other one can be on it, the way we decided was the skills assessment for my oh was a quarter of the cost as it was for me! no brainer!

if you can go for a 190 -state sponsored or 189 independent you will have much more security should you lose your job (on a 457 you only have 90 days to find a new sponsor)

the immigration website will give you the bodies which assesses skills for each profession,

good luck,

bean :)