457 visas and naff migration agents....

Guest jantplus3

Guest jantplus3

Just a rant really...... Partner was offered job in july 2012. Migration agent was employed by the company to get us from uk to perth. 457 visa granted in nov, and moved to perth in jan 2013. We realised the limitations of this visa, and with three children under 4 our original intention of me working ( im a teacher) part time were thwarted with the childcare costs... Lack of research on our part, granted. Partner has been ( with boss) to see a second migration agent who advised completely different. He says we should have applied for perm visa back in july, as well as a 457 in a different job area... and we would be half way there. as it stands the company needs to apply for a second 457 as well as starting the pr process for us cos chances are we wont be able to transfer / apply for a permanent visa after 2 years (as planned) because of the wishy washy (his words) PR 457 we are on.

AAAAAAAARRRRRRRRRGGGGGGGHHHHHHH

Guest jantplus3

they are quite happy to.... however because the 457 is in public relations, which apparently is one of the easier ones to get through initially, and the job isn't really, they would be able to refuse permancy. Also we are looking at a quicker ways to get permanancy than waiting two years so that i can work. The occupation is on the right list for a permanent visa straight off so we should have applied for that in the first instance. Don't assume that just because you are on a 457 that you automatically get PR after 2 years......

Guest guest9824

Sorry to hear your plight Jantplus3. I hope you are successful in getting your visa changed. We came on the same visa and my hubby's employer paid for PR after two years, but as you say it's not an automatic thing. Lets hope your circumstances change for the better, I feel for you especially with 3 children to think about. Hope all goes well in the long run.

pea x