UK DIPLOMA Nurse- Can I work in OZ with NEW APHRA rule re Degree required????

LoopyLauren

Hi,

Any news re this topic would be greatly recieved.

I am UK based RN and currently awaiting VISA app decision.

Since We started this process, APHRA have announced that RN's now need to have a degree to be able to register with AMNAC.

I have almost 20 yrs experience and I have been registered in both NSW and NT previously when on a working holiday visa.

Is it true that I can not longer work as an RN in OZ???

Dreams shattered when I heard this news....

I have contacted APHRA by email and got what looks like an automated respons,e stating that I would need to use a specifc form to register.......But no definitive YES or NO.

Any ideas's????

Cheers

Lauren ( A fed up grumpy nurse, We've been undergoing visa process for 18 mths to hear what could be potentially CRAP news!)

Hi guys, someone may correct me here if I'm wrong but as I understand it if you have previously held registration in aus before you should be ok. Ahpra have stated that if you have child, learning disability, or mental health diplomas in nursing they are being granted registration with 12 months supervised practice. Not sure what this entails, not sure ahpra know! If you are adult diploma, it seems that topping up to degree in uk is the way to go! Hope this helps! And good luck with ahpra, they are a funny old bunch! X

Hi guys, someone may correct me here if I'm wrong but as I understand it if you have previously held registration in aus before you should be ok. Ahpra have stated that if you have child, learning disability, or mental health diplomas in nursing they are being granted registration with 12 months supervised practice. Not sure what this entails, not sure ahpra know! If you are adult diploma, it seems that topping up to degree in uk is the way to go! Hope this helps! And good luck with ahpra, they are a funny old bunch! X

HI,