enrollements

Brightness786

Hi a quick question, if you get your house in the school catchment area will you most likely get your child at that school.

Also do the schools in Perth accept children mid through an academic year? 

We are making our move in September, the plan is to get them enrolled and start in October after school holidays.

Many thanks any comments regarding this would be greatly appreciated.

Hi Yes you can enrol mid term and for most schools you have to be in the catchment - they will need proof of an address and some require you to show a lease.  I'm not sure with the most popular (difficult to get into schools), what happens if you move out of the catchment (you'd probably need to check).  Generally, houses are a little more expensive to rent in those catchment areas. 

Do bring your immunisation records for the children, you will probably be required to show them.

• Like 1

Hi, 

I work in a school office.  If you live in the catchment area you will get a place. You can enrol at any time.

You will need a lease agreement and 2 proofs of address, Passports and visas for children and parents. They need immunisation records but we only accept them as printed off medicare. Bring your records, once you have registered for medicare, you will have to take them to a gp for them to copy and send to the Australian immunisation register. You can then print them off once you get your centrelink account linked to your my gov account online  It sounds complicated but its really easy.  Not having this at enrolment won't stop you from enrolling.

Whereabouts are you thinking of moving to?

Jen

Thanks folks, valuable and reassuring information was much appreciated.

I just had this nightmare vision of them not going to school until January 2019 at start of term!

Jen I'm not too sure where we are moving to, got no family friends in Perth etc.  Tempted with Rossmoyne or Willeton as I have often see these coming up favourable as public schools.