Skills Assessment done. What next?

Aaron

Hi Guys, 

I have got my skills assessment done by the Australian computer society. They have issued me a result letter that says I have almost 10 years of IT experience for the purposes of migrating as a Test Engineer. What is the next step? Should I get a migration agent, or is it just as easy to do it myself? Appreciate your responses. Thanks. 

Aaron

Hi very stormy thank you for your response!

Yes good news is I have found a local migration agent who has agreed to point me in the right direction free of charge! The reason being he’s busy moving house at the moment and so currently has no office. He’s the only registered migration agent in Belfast. This was quite a surprise to me to be honest! Not sure if there are other ones in Northern Ireland. 

No I haven’t done the English language test yet. Is this something I ought to study for if English is my first language? I presume I’ll get maximum points since I’m reasonably well educated.

Yes, you should study for it. I have seen even teachers fail more than once. Also, the visa process is a sort of competition, with those that have the highest points being invited first and the lowest points potentially never getting invited. So, getting as many points as possible from things like ILETS is important. 

21 hours ago, Aaron said:

Hi very stormy thank you for your response!

Yes good news is I have found a local migration agent who has agreed to point me in the right direction free of charge! The reason being he’s busy moving house at the moment and so currently has no office. He’s the only registered migration agent in Belfast. This was quite a surprise to me to be honest! Not sure if there are other ones in Northern Ireland. 

No I haven’t done the English language test yet. Is this something I ought to study for if English is my first language? I presume I’ll get maximum points since I’m reasonably well educated.