is Perth as doom and gloom as painted on this forum

Tab

I enjoy reading the posts on here immensely but I can't help but feel there is a real sense of negativity and doom and gloom particularly towards newbies who are excited to try for a new life. My background is I have been coming back and forth to Australia since 1986. I spent over 10 years working I  the Kimberley and pilbara as a nurse and midwife . I am a dual citizen.  i was recently back in Oz for 3 weeks at Easter. What surprised me the most is how reasonably prìced most things were and how clean and even though there is a downturn in the economy most of my friends still live lifestyles we only dream of I'm the UK 

I do womder how many of those doom and gloomers realise how much poverty and deprivation there now is in parts of the uk. It is noticeable on every high street corner. What I hardly saw while on Perth was the sheer numbers of down and out people we are seeing here 

Our employment might be at a high level but a lot of these people are on subsistence wages

my friend teenage children all had part time jobs some of them earning as much as I do as a midwife per hour. Public transport was a third of the price days out we're much more affordable a trip to perth zoo was less than half we would pay at our local zoo .Food prices were comparable and overall I found eating out cheaper

House prices are still over inflated in perth for me còmimg from the north west of England  selling two houses I can still not afford to buy over there. However regardless of house prices I still feel West Australia offers me and my children a better standard of living. less fear of terrorism and violence and a lifestyle that is very difficult in the UK without being incredibly rich

I truly believe for people with grit determi.atiom and a strong work ethic Perth still has lots to offer. Please be gentle on the newbies .

Foo