Residency vs working visa, suburbs, teaching and GP

LaurenS

Hi everyone!

My hubby and I are thinking of making the move with our 1 year old. My husband is a gp and I am a special needs teacher so both of our jobs are on the skills list. Overall the aim Is that we are hoping that we will be able to afford a nice lifestyle I.e nice house, 2 cars, holidays but both work part time. Currently I work part time due to childcare costs hubby works full time and is ridiculously stressed all the time. Lots of people in his work place are having breaks downs and he doesn’t get to spend much time with our baby. We have a nice house but that’s where all our money goes we can’t afford holidays and we do have two cars but considering how hard he has worked for the past 12 years they are nothing particularly nice. Basically we feel we are not getting out anywhere near what we put in in the UK and would like to have more time as a family and a decent standard or living. We feel like we are just keeping our heads above water over here.  

we are currently debating working visa or residency. 

Residency pros:

security 

we can rent rather than live with friends 

not limited to 6 month jobs 

may get permanent jobs and I could then work until I was entitled to maternity leave as we are planning another baby at some point in the future

residency cons

how much will it cost? - I think it’s a lot of money when it may not work out and we may return after 6 month/a year

currently most of our money is tied up in our house in the UK which we are planning to sell but if we needed the funds from the sale we may have to move into rented. There may be ways round this lending the money from family until the house sale goes through but it does involve more risk.

Does anybody have any experience/thoughts or advice? If anyone has got PR recently how much did it cost? 

Also so has anyone done or planning to do agency teaching? What’s they pay like how is it?